Click Here for COVID-19 Updates

President Trump approves FEMA Individual Assistance for Iowans in Linn County

Published Friday, August 21, 2020

DES MOINES – President Donald Trump approved Governor Reynolds’ request for funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program for Linn County. Disaster assessments for other requested counties are ongoing. 

“President Trump’s swift and decisive response will deliver critical assistance for our state as we continue to recover from this devastating storm,” said Gov. Reynolds. “While many in the national media ignored what was happening here on the ground following the devastating derecho, President Trump and I spoke the day after the storm hit. During that conversation, he promised the full cooperation of the federal government during this critical time. Once again, he has come through and I am grateful for this President‘s unwavering commitment to Iowa as we continue to secure federal assistance for all affected counties.”

“I appreciate President Trump’s quick approval of Linn County’s Individual Assistance request,” said Senator Chuck Grassley. “Many Iowans’ homes have been destroyed by this storm and federal assistance is needed to help them get back on their feet. I’ll continue to work with FEMA, the State of Iowa and affected communities and individuals on further recovery needs.”

“In my visits to Linn County to see the areas that have been hit hard by last week’s derecho, folks have made it clear to me how important support from the federal government is to our recovery,” said Senator Joni Ernst. “I’m grateful to both President Trump and Governor Reynolds for acting quickly to get Iowans in the community assistance, and I’ll continue working to ensure folks across the state who have been affected by the derecho are getting the support they need.”

“This is a critical need for the people of Cedar Rapids,” said Cedar Rapids Mayor Brad Hart. “We are thankful to the Governor, our Congressional Delegation, and ultimately the President for adding this important individual assistance to the disaster declaration.” 

“This natural disaster is of historic magnitude. Iowans are pulling together,” said Marion Mayor Nicolas AbouAssaly. “But assistance from the federal government will go a long way to helping us recover as quickly as possible.”

Residents of Linn County can now apply for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program, which provides disaster-affected homeowners, renters, and businesses with programs and services to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, medical expenses, and legal services. CLICK HERE FOR A PROGRAM OVERVIEW.

The registration process will take about 20 minutes. The process is authorized by the Office of Management and Budget under Control number 1660-0002 with an expiration of February 28, 2021.

  • If you are applying for both home and business disaster assistance, complete one registration to cover both.
  • If you are applying for multiple disasters, you will need to complete a registration for each disaster.

You'll need the following to complete your registration:

  • Social Security Number (SSN) OR the SSN of a minor child in the household who is a U.S. Citizen, Non-Citizen National or Qualified Alien
  • Annual Household Income
  • Contact Information (phone number, mailing address, email address*, and damaged home address)
  • Insurance Information (coverage, insurance company name, etc.)
  • Bank Account Information (if you are eligible to receive financial assistance, the money can be deposited in your account)

*Note: You must provide an email address if you want to review your registration status online. If you do not provide an email address, you will be required to contact FEMA for any updates to your registration.

To learn more, review the Individuals and Households Program and Policy Guide (IAPPG). This provides policy and eligibility information for all assistance under the Individuals and Households Program (IHP)

Additional counties may be approved for the Individual Assistance Program as FEMA continues to review damage assessments. The governor had also requested Individual Assistance funding for Audubon, Benton, Boone, Cass, Cedar, Clarke, Clinton, Dallas, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Madison, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, Tama, and Washington counties. 

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program remains available in the above counties. The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $43,440 for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and temporary housing expenses. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website at Potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. 

The Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance Grant Program - is no longer available now that Linn county is eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance.

Disaster Case Management remains available to impacted Iowans. For information, contact your local community action association or visit

Back to top